top of page

Consider, Avicci. By guest blogger, Sera Alper.


“… In the now, take a chance Make a mess, and don't forget that life is a dance.”

A generation was crushed

with the unexpected headline: Swedish DJ Avicii Dead at age 28! As I am typing this up in disbelief, “Feeling Good” is blasting through my headphones. “Can you believe it” – “Is it true” – “How did he die” – many friends are in shock needing confirmation on the news of a talent gone too soon. With his death, we are once again reminded that tomorrow is not promised.

Minus the red party cup, I sit in my cubicle in a striped blazer feeling corporate as I can be, while my soul is driving through a desert with a topless Mustang blasting Avicii’s songs. “I feel like I am trapped in someone else’s masterplan. Go to school, get a job, get a mortgage. All I'm really doing is dying.” Perhaps a non-conformist view of ditching the expected milestones, Avicii was a rebel. The legend as he was, his influence on advocating living life to the fullest, not settling at any cost, and chasing dreams was injected into every beat. He was an inspiration and the definition of making epic memories. His songs take me back to the golden years, when “adulting” did not hit as it did now. Life was one big celebration, friends were the family we chose, while we were all one, wild and free.

“…These are the days we've been waiting for On days like these who could ask for more Keep them coming Cause we're not done yet These are the days we won't regret These are the days we won't forget.”

Avicii was the definition of my youth. His songs were the background music of the college years, when we all felt invincible and unstoppable. “We made a promise to never get old as those were the nights that will never die.” As I go through my top Avicii playlist reminiscing the beautiful memories, his death hits me harder. I realize how many epic moments he contributed to without even realizing. “Waiting for Love”, “Wake Me Up”, “Addicted to You”, “Without You”, “For A Better Day”, “Levels”, Silhouettes”, “The Days”, “The Nights”, “Superlove”, “You Make Me”, and “I Could Be the One” … Avicii’s music gave us hope. His music has changed many lives and will continue to live on. To honor Avicii, we are putting together the all-time Top 10 Songs. Enjoy!

"…One day you'll leave this world behind So live a life you will remember."

  1. Avicii - Wake Me Up

  2. Avicii – Waiting for Love

  3. Avicii – Hey Brother

  4. Avicii – The Nights

  5. Avicii – Levels

  6. Avicii – Addicted to You

  7. Avicii vs Nicky Romero – I Could Be the One

  8. Avicii – Superlove

  9. Avicii – The Days

  10. Avicii – Silhoutes


bottom of page