top of page

Consider, Travelers.


"I don't believe in fairytales."

Cynical? Maybe. Extremely timely and representative of the world we are living in today? Possibly.

These seemingly somber lyrics, come straight off of the brand new single by indie band Travelers, entitled "White Rabbit". Based in Virginia, these guys have taken a journey together through their musical past and found their future in an upbeat, funky and electronic sound. Put this track on and it will have you feeling the need to get up and go for a run.

I recently got to chat with band members Tom and Brandon. Two talented and I believe poetic guys who know how to rock. I think they are pretty awesome and you should definitely check out our chat here:

 

Consider the Music: Hailing from VA, what's the music scene like there? And, if you've been performing live, what has that been like? Have you stayed local to VA, or are you branching out?

Tom: It's pretty tough being a band like us in Virginia Beach, but the scene is getting better. We're lucky enough to be able to open for bands like The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus and Palisades. Local fans of theirs will come out for shows like that, but for a strictly locals show, it's a little more difficult. We try to play Richmond every month or so, it's always been a music hub, and there's an intense passion for local music there that you can't not admire.

Consider the Music: I'm a big fan of your song 'Angel', but it's clear to see, that your music has evolved into a more electronic sound. What was the inspiration behind that?

Tom: I'll start off by saying that we usually like to leave the meanings of our songs up to the listener. I wrote ‘Angel’ about a person that helped me realize who I was, and taught me to be me. As simple as that sounds, a lot of us, myself included, try to be someone we're not in order to feel love and acceptance. When I finally realized how futile that was, a whole new world opened up to me. Just be you. That's what I learned, and that's also how we found our new sound. We decided to just be us. We asked ourselves, “If our personalities were music, what would that sound like?”

Consider the Music: It feels like this single is a possible anthem for our generation and our possible response to the news, and negativity we have to fight off every day. Is that any part of it?

Tom: You know, I love that interpretation, and that is now what the song is about.

Consider the Music: What was the writing process like for 'White Rabbit'?

Tom: A good friend of ours binge watched ‘Lost’. He showed us some lyrics he wrote about the show and told us to do what we want with it. I'm a huge fan of ‘Lost’ and believe it or not, the actor who plays John Locke (Terry O'Quinn) is a local in our hometown. Anyway, I took it and ran. I tweaked a good bit of it and wrote the music, but I wasn't really in love with it until Brandon got ahold of it and added his beat to it. It totally changed the song and it's been on repeat in my car ever since.

Consider the Music: You say in the song that you "Don't believe in fairytales." We all did at some point, do you remember which one was your favorite when you were younger and why?

Tom: I wouldn't say it's a fairy tale, but I loved reading Lord of the Rings as a kid because I loved the adventure and excitement.

Brandon: Does Shrek count?

Consider the Music: I would be remiss not to bring up the drummer on this track. He is really going to town. Is this someone in the band? If so, he deserves a serious shoutout.

Tom: Yes, it's just Brandon and I in the band. Brandon drums and I sing, play guitar, and sometimes drum with him, technology does the rest.

Consider The Music: What do you want people to take away from this single and the two of you as a duo?

Brandon: I'll leave you with the message of ‘White Rabbit’, “There's a reason you're alive, even if you don't see it yet.”

Tom: I want you (the reader) to take us with you wherever you may go, and if you come to one of our shows, we will redefine what a concert means to you. Two people can make a whole lot more noise than you think!

 

Check out their new single "White Rabbit: and make sure you follow them!

www.travelersband.com

www.instagram.com/travelersband

www.facebook.com/officialtravelersband

www.twitter.com/travelersbandva

Peace and Love,

Anna


bottom of page